View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:50 am

Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Hope This Fits...(Drumming Along) 

Post Hope This Fits...(Drumming Along)
Anybody out here in Genesis Movement land drummers? I am a comparative novice but am working hard to play along to them as practice. Started out with "Abacab" and "Turn It On Again", I have since moved on to things like "Squonk", "Los Endos", the "In the Cage" Medley, and "Ballad of Big".
Anybody out there drummers with suggestions or favorite parts? Thanks!

Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:39 am

Post Re: Hope This Fits...(Drumming Along)
Nice to see another drummer on the forum! I've been drumming for 4 years now and I must say that some of your song choices are a bit off the chart for a novice. A song I recommend for you to practice, would be "No Son of Mine". Simple drum beat (3/4) and it's one of the first ones I started practicing.

The songs I find fun to drum to would be "Dance on a Volcano", "Los Endos", "Turn It on Again", "Mama", "Cinema Show" (instrumental), and "Land of Confusion".

If you want a real challenge, then go for the 1986 "Cage" medley (Cage/..In That Quiet Earth.../ Supper's Ready (from Apocalypse in 9/89). I tried this and failed......epically. Can't seem to get the last half of "Earth" down. If you want another good song to try, then go for "Dodo/Lurker", the live version from Abacab. Probably one of the best songs to practice with.

Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:24 pm

Hey Legal Beagle. I haven't tried "No Son of Mine" yet, but, I love the Seconds Out version of "Dance on a Volcano/Los Endos", it's great practice and just a lot of fun to play. What else did you find "off the chart?" I played "Squonk", "Ballad of Big", "Dance on a Volcano/Los Endos" and "Afterglow" (from Seconds Out) to an audience not long ago and they enjoyed it!